Wednesday, 21 November 2012

Jayadeva and Geetagovinda

The Gita Govinda (Oriya: ଗୀତ ଗୋବିନ୍ଦ, Devanagari :  गीत गोविन्द) (Song of  Govinda) is a work composed by the 12th-century poet, Jayadeva who was born in Kenduli Sasan near Puri in Orissa. It describes the relationship between Krishna and the gopikas (female cow herders) of Vrindavana , and in particular one gopi named Radha.This work has been of great importance in the development of the bhakti  traditions of  Hinduism.

The Gita Govinda is organized into twelve chapters. Each chapter is further sub-divided into twenty four divisions called Prabandhas. The prabandhas contain couplets grouped into eights, called Asthapadis. It is mentioned that Radha is greater than Krishna. The text also elaborates the eight moods of Heroine, the Ashta Nayika in its verses, which over the years has been an inspiration for many compositions and choreographic works in Indian Classical Dances. The first English translation of the Gita Govinda was published by Sir William Jones in 1792, where Kalinga (ancient Orissa) is referred to as the origin of the text. Since then, the Gita Govinda has been translated to many languages throughout the world, and is considered to be among the finest examples of Sanskrit poetry.

Text source and courtesy:

 Jayadeva and Geetagovinda stamp release function

SPECIAL OCCASION: Post Master General Yasodhara Menon (left) and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik at the release of the saint poet Jayadev and GeetaGovind memorial postage stamps in Bhubaneswar on Monday. 

Yasodhara Menon, Chief Post Master General, Orissa Circle of India Post released a set of 11 stamps on Jayadev & Gita Govind at a state level function held at Jayadev Bhawan, Bhubaneswar on July 27, 2009. The album containing these stamps was presented to the chief guest, Naveen Patnaik, Chief Minister of Orissa. Prafulla Samal, Minister for Panchayati Raj, Information and Public Relation, Orissa, Prasanna Patsani, Member of Parliament, Aravind Dhali, Member of the Legislative Assembly and Tarunkanti Mishra, IAS, Development Commissioner and Additional Chief Secretary, Government of Orissa were present on the occasion.

A spectacular and colorful Orissi dance performance on Dasavtar followed the stamp release function. The Chief Minister also inaugurated a photographic exhibition on the paintings on Jayadev. A Philatelic counter was opened during the function. In spite of heavy rain philatelists from different parts of Orissa as well as local people turned up in large numbers.

In my collection i have a piece of this Jayadeva and Geetagovinda miniature sheet and also maxim cards created by Mr.Hemanth Kumar Jain  on Jayadeva Geetagovinda.